Phish Summer 2019: Fenway Park

20190708_133048

“Thunder calls through waterfalls
Rising tides and ocean walls
I can hear you when you sigh..”

The tenth print in my Summer 2019 series. This print was created during the Fenway run, and finished shortly after.  I had chosen image a while ago, not realizing how apropos it was.  For Fenway, I was inspired by Dürer’s print of Saint Sebaldus (1514).  Sebaldus is the patron saint against cold weather, and was a hermit who took residence near Vicenza, Italy (where I grew up!)  He usually depicted holding the church he helped start in Nuremberg.  It seemed fitting to have him holding Fenway Park, which many may consider a church in it own way.  This was a challenging block for me, both for the amount of time I had (started 1st night of Fenway on Friday, finished carving the following Monday), as well as trying to carve a 3×4 Fenway Park.

Prints are 9×12 on 11×14 paper, and  hand carved and printed. Black and white editions are printed on 140 lb watercolor paper, and the color variants are printed on 98 lb mixed media paper. Black and white are an edition of 30, and a pink variant of 10.  Due to the nature of the process each print may slightly differ in background color. Prints are now available in my shop: www.joseeen.etsy.com

A.Duerer(?), Hl.Sebald - Saint Sebald / Duerer -
Albrecht Dürer- St Sebaldus (1514)

Author: josean

I draw skulls, dinosaurs, girls, and things pertaining to Phish. Original artwork and prints http://www.etsy.com/shop/joseeen Select giclee prints http://josean-rivera.artistwebsites.com/ Ramblings and pics https://twitter.com/joseeen

Leave a comment