Summer Tour 2019: St Louis

stlouisbwweb

I excited to finally present the first of my 2019 Phish summer tour prints!  Continuing on the theme started by my Riviera Maya block print, I was inspired by the work of 15th century printmaker Albrecht Dürer.  I had been studying his work, as he was an early influence in my printmaking journey, and found many prints that I felt would lend themselves well as tour prints.  I started working on the blocks in January, and at this point have carved 8 of 13 blocks for the entirely of summer tour. I recently moved to a better (and larger!) living space, which means I no longer need to carve and print in the living room/kitchen! The move has delayed my work a bit, but as I get settled, I’ll be printing and carving the rest shortly!


For the tour opener in St. Louis, Missouri, I created a print inspired by the Dürer woodcut titled “Gerson” (1489). Jean Charlier de Gerson was Chancellor of the University of Paris,  who was forced to flee Paris after being suspected of leaning toward reform in the late 1300s.  This print was also inspired by the song “Ginseng Sullivan”, thus the ginseng instead of the unknown plant in the original, which can be seen in the bottom left corner of the print.  Although the song references the North Georgia hills, I was happy to find out that ginseng does grow in Missouri! You can also spot the Chaifetz Arena in the background, as well as the iconic St. Louis Gateway Arch.

 

Prints are 9 x12 on 11×14 paper, and printed with Supergraphic black ink by Bill Fick.  Black and white editions are printed on 140 lb watercolor paper, and the color variants are printed on 98 lb mixed media paper.  I haven’t decided on the exact edition size, but these summer prints will be a much smaller edition than last year’s.  Prints will be available in my Etsy shop this Friday (5/10/19) around 6 pm eastern.  Expect more summer tour prints to be made available soon after!

 

Gerson Title Page
“Gerson” Albrecht Durer (1489)

Prints are 9×12 on 11×14 paper, and printed with Supergraphic black ink by Bill Fick.  Black and white editions are printed on 140 lb watercolor paper, and the color variants are printed on 98 lb mixed media paper.  I haven’t decided on the exact edition size, but these summer prints will be a much smaller edition than last year’s.  Prints will be available in my Etsy shop this Friday (5/10/19) around 6 pm eastern.  Expect more summer tour prints to be made available soon after!

EDIT 5/19: After a long delay, my prints are finally available in my shop!  The recent weather in my area (lots of rain) caused my prints to take forever to dry, one of the downsides of oil based ink.

Author: josean

I draw skulls, dinosaurs, girls, and things pertaining to Phish. Original artwork and prints http://www.etsy.com/shop/joseeen Select giclee prints http://josean-rivera.artistwebsites.com/ Ramblings and pics https://twitter.com/joseeen

Leave a comment